YALE UNIVERSITY EMBARGOED / SANCTIONED COUNTRIES LIST

I. Countries of Great Concern with Comprehensive Embargoes – Most Transactions are Prohibited Without a License; Any and All Transactions Involving These Nations MUST be Reviewed by the Office of Export Controls Prior to Approval.
Comprehensive embargoes prohibit virtually ALL exports/imports and other transactions without a license or other US Government authorization.

Cuba: Concerns involve travel to and from Cuba, and financial transactions with Cuba.

Iran: Labeled a "state sponsor of terrorism." Concerns involve the import/export (including temporary transfer) of goods, financial transactions with entities, travel and payments for any work performed in Iran

North Korea: Concerns involve the import/export (including temporary transfer) of goods, financial transactions with entities, travel and payments for any work performed in North Korea.

Syria: Labeled a "state sponsor of terrorism." Concerns involve the import/export (including temporary transfer) of goods, financial transactions with entities, travel and payments for any work performed in Syria.

Ukraine – Russia Crimea: Concerns involve the importation or exportation of goods, services, or technology to or from the Crimea region of Ukraine, as well as new investment in the Crimea region of Ukraine by a United States person as well as other restrictions on Russia.

II. Targeted Sanctioned Countries. Targeted sanctions are prohibitions on trade in specified goods, technologies, and services with specific organizations (including foreign governments) and persons.

The Balkans (Albania, Bosnia, Croatia, Macedonia including Kosovo, Serbia), Belarus, Burundi, Central African Republic, Congo, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Nicaragua, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Venezuela, Yemen and Zimbabwe.

Revised: February 13, 2020