2019 Black Linen Awards

August 30, 2019

The Black Linen Awards are presented to those who have completed an act that embodied the spirit of above and beyond hospitality. This year, there were  10 nominees and 1 winner. The nominees were as follows: Jennifer Bennette, Edna Echevarria, Karl Evans, Clinton Gaye, Qizhou ‘Joe’ Gou, Crystal Coleman, Andrey Martineau, Will Ojeda, Joe Raccio, and Shayrhonda Wellons.

These individuals have been nominated for a variety of reasons including, their unwavering positive attitude; strong work ethic; giving 100% on a daily basis; lending a helping hand without being asked; stepping up to take on a task when service gets busy; and creating memorable experiences for students through fun personalized conversations. They also have demonstrated their dedication to the development and growth of their colleagues; their attention to detail; their ability to embrace change and live the can-do spirit; and their overall dedication to Yale Hospitality.

After much deliberation, it was decided that Crystal Coleman of Timothy Dwight (TD) College would receive this year’s Black Linen Award. Crystal was nominated by her managers Matt Beard and Sammy Feliciano for her compassion and dedication to students. This past year TD had a student with a severe dietary restriction. After the TD managers met with the student in the beginning of the year, Crystal met with her weekly.  She walked the student through the various food options, created customized plans, and at times crafted tailor-made meals to meet the student’s needs – all the while, making sure the student felt comfortable. Crystal went above and beyond and not only exceeded the student’s expectations but, that of the managers.