Changes to Zoom meeting defaults
March 31, 2020
As of April 1, the Yale default settings in Zoom have been changed to enhance security during a Zoom meeting. Changes include:
- Initially, screen sharing is only enabled for the Host. However, Hosts can allow other participants to share their screen by “managing participants in a meeting”.
- Hosts can put meeting participants on hold or remove them from the meeting.
- Only Hosts can use the annotation tools to add information to shared screens.
Hosts or participants can update their personal default Zoom meeting settings by navigating to the Zoom meeting profile settings (login may be required).
Faculty should refer to the Poorvu Center Academic Continuity website for additional guidance on teaching using Zoom.